Bangalore Diocese

Bangalore Youth Commission Hosts Youth Leadership Training and ICYM Elections

5th November, 2017: The Archdiocesan Youth Commission, organized a Two-Day Leadership Training for the Youth Leaders of our Archdiocese. 87 dynamic and creative young people registered for the training. The feedback from all of them was humbling to say the least, as they expressed immense joy at the way the training helped them and requested for more of such programs. The Archbishop in the inaugural Mass spoke at length to the youth urging them to be catalysts of change and renewal in their parishes. He asked them to urge their parish priests to make space for their involvement in parish life and parish ministry. He invited them to love God and learn to serve as Jesus did. The Training program was facilitated by Mr. George Selvam CEO of 5M Serpraise, Mr. Bobin John, Fr. Divya Paul and Fr. Amarnath Roy. The music ministry and the worship was led by Mr. Robbie and team. The topics dealt in the program included, Youth Leadership in the Bible by Fr. Amarnath Roy, Challenges of Youth Ministry, the Mega Trends in the World Today and the Four C’s (Critical Thinking, Communication, Collaboration, Creativity) as Framework for Leaders by Fr. Divya Paul. Mr. George Selvam through a series of Group Discussions, Role Plays led them to understand the dynamics of Collaboration, Conflict Resolution and Communication. Mr. Bobin John expounded the characteristics of Leaders. Mr. Valerian Menezes led the trainees in group building late into the night around the camp fire and BBQ.

The youth commissioned by their parish priests as representatives of their parish on Sunday, November 5th elected the New Diocesan Executive Committee for a two-year term. The outgoing DEXCO team were thanked and felicitated by the Archbishop and the Oath of Office for the incoming DEXCO MEMBERS was administered by Rev. Fr. Divya Paul the Archdiocesan Youth Director. The new Office bearers are as follows. Mr. Jerry - Sts. Peter and Paul Church, Royapuram(President) Mr. Moses – St. Anthony’s Church, kavalbyrasandra(Vice President) Ms Sharon – (John the Baptist Church, Vijayanagara) (Secretary)Ms Joyce Harshita (St. Francis Xavier’s Church, Somanahalli) TreasurerMr. Dennis (St. John the Evangelist Parish) Boy Representative Ms Navya(St. Pius the X Church) Girl Representative Mr. Sujay (OL of Carmel, Mariapura) Sports Secretary Mr. Silver Malani