Mangalore Diocese

Josvita D’Souza Gurpur, the new diocesan president for Young Catholic Students (YCS), along with other office bearers took charge during the diocesan virtual annual general body meeting held on Friday September 10 at Bejai Church Hall.

Josvita was elected the president of YCS, Mangalore diocese for the year 2021-22 in the virtual election held on September 5 from Shanthikiran Bajjodi. The other newly-elected office bearers of YCS Mangalore diocese 2021-22 are vice president Levin Cutinha Ferar, general secretary Melissa Monterio Bondel, joint secretary Jennica Corderio Valencia, liturgical secretary Ison Pereira Rosario, public relation officer Ashen D’Souza Bejai, treasurer Iden Crasta Bajjodi, cultural secretary Merel D’Souza Permannur, Yuvatare annual magazine editor Franklin Castelino Panir, regional representatives Briston Rodrigues Cordel and Ashton D’Souza Neermarga.

The ceremony was presided over and inaugurated by most Dr Peter Paul Saldanha, bishop of Mangalore diocese. The other guests of the day were Fr Dr JB Saldanha parish priest Bejai, Joylus D’Souza, chairman Christian Development Council Karnataka, Roy Castelino, PRO diocese of Mangalore and former president of Konkani Sahithya Academy Karnataka, Deril D’Sa, national president YCS/YSM, Francia D’Cunha Mulki and Richard Alvares Kulshekar.

Joylus D’Souza was felicitated by the bishop along with the guests on the dais. Joylus was YCS diocesan general secretary a few years ago and has also served as YCS Moodbidri deanery animator.

The outgoing executive committee conducted the programme. The president Sooraj Noronha Siddakatte shared his experience on behalf of all the council members. Jostan Lobo Vittal welcomed the gathering and Rishanth Fernandes Vamanjoor proposed vote of thanks. Carol Santhumayor Bejai and Ancilla Sequeira Agrar presented the annual report. Samantha Saldanha and team sang a prayer song, Megan Crasta Angelore and Ronald Serrao Bantwal compeered the ceremony. The election commissioner of the year Melreeda Rodrigues conducted the handing over ceremony and diocesan director Fr Rupesh Madtha led the oath-taking.

The outgoing YCS diocesan executive committee was felicitated with mementos and certificates by the bishop. The bishop also released the YCS English new handbook authored by Francis D’Cunha Mulki. In his presidential address, the bishop gave a call to the young students to gain knowledge and apply the YCS methodology ‘See-Judge-Act- Evaluate’ in daily life for a good future.

The programme was organized by the team consisting diocesan animator Prajwal Sequeira Derebail, diocesan coordinator Mervin J Vas Ferar along with the past council members like Nevin D’Cunha Permude, Ashvia Lasrado Permannur, Navil Rodrigues Kirem and Jean Lobo Ashoknagar.